Yahoo has decided to no longer allow users to upload content to the Yahoo Groups site.
Beginning October 28, you won't be able to upload any more content to the site, and as of December 14 all previously posted content on the site will be permanently removed, Yahoo said. This means that you'll have until that date to save anything you've uploaded. Photos and files can be saved right from the Yahoo Groups site, or you can download your data from the Privacy Dashboard.
The Yahoo Groups site will continue to exist, however, all public groups will be made private or restricted. Any new group members will need to request an invite or be invited by an admin. Admins will still be able to manage various group settings, though some functionality will be limited.
You'll still be able to communicate with your groups via email and search for private groups on the site. In addition, admins will continue to have limited access to group settings and administration tools.
Yahoo launched Groups in 2001 and quickly became a home for specialist communities.