If you turn on Nearby Friends, you'll occasionally be notified when friends are nearby, so you can get in touch with them.
Nearby Friends is an optional feature. You can choose who can see if you're nearby (for example: your friends, close friends, or a specific friends list) and you can turn it on and off at any time.
Sharing your location with Nearby Friends goes two ways - you and your friends both have to turn on Nearby Friends and choose to share with each other to see when you're nearby. Your friends will only be able to see that you?re nearby if you share this info with them and vice versa.
If you turn on Nearby Friends, you can also choose to share a precise location with the particular friends you choose for a set period of time, such as the next hour. When you share your precise location, the friend you choose will see exactly where you are on a map, which helps you find each other.
When Nearby Friends is on, you can see when your friends are traveling if they're also using this feature and sharing with you. You'll be able to see the city or neighborhood they are in, including on their profile.
Nearby Friends will be available on Android and iPhone in the US over the coming weeks.