CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

Mater or slave to IDE   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 1302 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage] >> CD, DVD, BD Drives >> Writing Quality >> Mater or slave to IDE Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Mater or slave to IDE - 9/9/2005 3:03:24 PM   
burn2

I recently have the pc shop instalated a Plextor PX-716a and now i found out thru Plextools Professional that my PX has been instalated as slave unit and the cd rom as the master.

Is this correct?
If this is wrong what are the improvements when changed.

My system is XP sp2 and i have 2 seperate hdd with a raid.

Can somebody help.
Do not explain using to difficult words as i'm not that technical.

Post #: 1
RE: Mater or slave to IDE - 9/9/2005 4:22:03 PM   
SiliconFreak

Hi and Welcome!

I presume that both (your CD and Plextor drives) are on same IDE channel? It would be better if you switch them (set Plextor as master and CD as slave), because faster drive (or in this case drive that needs better priority - PX716a) should always be set as master. Even if you leave them as they are, they probably wont cause you any problems....but if you can/know how to....then rather change them. In case you dont know how to...just open the case...and take both manuals if you have them (or just look at the back of the drives and change those pin settings....usually it reads there MASTER and SLAVE...or MA an SL...and also...usually...i.e...if you want to set drive as master...just close those 2 pins with that connector...otherwise...close slave's 2 pins....or...just come back and we'll help you out further)...