New system time again... (Full Version)

All Forums >> [PC hardware] >> Motherboards/CPU

SithTracy -> New system time again... (1/11/2007 8:44:06 PM)

... and the researching has begun.  Right now I am looking at two system boards... and some history, I have been using AMD with nVidia nForce chipsets for a few years...

Mainboard 1:  ASUS CROSSHAIR
What can I say, I've been happy with nVidia/AMD for a while... Cost is not a huge factor to me and this thing looks like it rocks.

Mainboard 2:  ASUS M2R32-MVP
Wow, me, considering an ATI product... well AMD owns them now... and I gotta say... I'm not sure I need all the bells and whistles of the CROSSHAIR.  I never went with SLI on my current s939 nForce4 SLI board and I doubt I will consider it anytime soon.

Does anyone want to provide some input?  I've got a few months to decide... I'm looking at making the purchase in the April time frame.  Would love some feedback from some folks here.

Thanks,

SithTracy

alexmacris -> RE: New system time again... (1/19/2007 5:09:39 AM)

Are you looking for an Intel/AMD S775, AM2 or 939 socket?

SithTracy -> RE: New system time again... (2/4/2007 7:56:18 AM)

AM2, but I have not completely ruled out Intel S775.  The only thing that turns me off Intel is Asus and the JMicron IDE controller they are putting on the P965 based boards I have been looking at.  I am pretty much an Asus guy and probably will not consider anything but an Asus board.  The JMicron has problems sustaining/configuring DMA on optical drives... and I have a couple IDE based drives I would be putting on the system.

Right now, I am leaning towards the ATI based ASUS AM2 board.  I like the concept of Crossfire a bit more than my current S939 SLI board (nForce4).

SithTracy -> RE: New system time again... (2/9/2007 4:30:12 PM)