CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

Problem with Burner   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 1072 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage Software] >> Audio >> Problem with Burner Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Problem with Burner - 10/7/2004 10:22:44 AM   
cmann

Hi..

Computer - Toshiba P15-S420 (laptop)
Writer - Pioneer DVD-RW DVRK-12D (2.4x DVD Write, 16x CD Write)

I have been burning Mp3s w/ Nero for about 6 years and am pretty familiar with computers. When I first purshased my Toshiba laptop and installed the Nero 6.3 version, it would only allow me to burn at 4x. I went back and used an earlier version of Nero 6.0, and since April it has burnt at 16x fine.

However, since Saturday, the writer has been acting up. When I attempt to burn audio CDs from mp3s, with the same Media, Nero says its burning at 16x, yet its taking over 20 minutes to write a 750MB audio CD. Obviously this is not 16x write speed.

The drive is still playing Audio CDs and DVDs fine. I have not attempted to back up a DVDr since this occurred. I did use Nero DVD-CD speed tool, and when it does the test for CD..it goes at 4x, when I do the test to write to DVD, its OK at 2.4x.

To remedy this problem, I have attempted to unistall and reinstall Nero, along with different versions. I have also defragged a few times. To no avail, the writer is still taking over 20 minutes to write audio cds.

Does anyone have a suggestion on what is wrong and what I can do to remedy this? Is is a hardware problem? conflicts in the device w/ the program? I have called Pioneer and Toshiba and they have been limited help.

Thanks!

CMann
quote:

Ability is of little acount without opportunity
Napolean
Post #: 1