CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

How do you find the media code when buying discs?   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 844 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage] >> BD, CD, DVD Media >> How do you find the media code when buying discs? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
How do you find the media code when buying discs? - 3/7/2007 11:29:46 PM   
Ken across the pond

Hello, Mates,

I just joined this site tonight and this is my first post.  Greetings from across the pond (Southern California, specifically).  Looking forward to e-chatting with you all.

My first question:  Is there an online vendor (in the U.S., preferably) that lists the media code for the blank media they sell?  I'm new to disc burning, and I'd like to buy the exact media that performed well in tests/reviews of the burner I just bought (an Asus DRW-1612BL).  Lots of Websites list the brands they sell, but I don't see any mention of specific media codes.  I've also looked at the boxes and/or packaging of various blank discs from Fuji, Verbatim and Maxell, at a couple retail stores, and there's no mention of media codes on the packaging either.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Ken

Post #: 1
RE: How do you find the media code when buying discs? - 3/8/2007 12:36:52 AM   
SithTracy

It's a crap shoot, but I always buy Verbatim and I have not been burned yet (this includes Sam's Club purchases).... though you may want to consider RIMA.com, the don't post the media codes, but they sell quality media at a decent price... and it looks like they are based in sunny California!  Tough for me to picture it here in the Snowy, cold mid-west.  Sometimes wish I took that job in Phoenix a couple years back....