CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

please help! Aopen 5224   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 1330 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage] >> BD, CD, DVD Media >> please help! Aopen 5224 Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
please help! Aopen 5224 - 4/1/2003 12:42:11 AM   
12power

i just install my new AOpen crw52x24x52 with nero sofware and i am new at this. i need to backup my data, what is the best cdr or cdrw blank disks to use for AOpen drive the price is not an issue because i don't to corrupt my data. And what speed should i use to backup my data on a blank media using microsoft backup or nero. Thank you
Post #: 1
RE: please help! Aopen 5224 - 4/1/2003 2:25:47 AM   
john

I would say Verbatim 52X will work just fine, as our tests have shown the writing speed does affect the writing quality

Visit www.cdrinfo.com - The Recording Authority

(in reply to 12power)
Post #: 2
RE: please help! Aopen 5224 - 4/1/2003 3:17:05 AM   
Dolphinius_Rex

I would suggest 12x or 16x (CLV) on Verbatim DataLifePlus media.

Sticking with the CLV writing method is probably a good idea, which means (depending on your writer) not burning faster then 20x. Jitter can also be a problem, so to keep jitter scores low you want to burn at a slower speed (i.e. <32x). You also want to keep the C1/C2 error rate as low as possible, which means using good media (i.e. Verbatim DataLifePlus), as well as an appropriate burning speed. I've found that with good media, burning too slowly can sometimes actually *increase* the C1/C2 error rate, so I that's why I suggest 12x or 16x, since these speeds always seem to perform well for me on my testing.

Good luck! and I hope my answer helps