CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

RE: NEC ND-3500A v2.27 Supports SL DVD+R/RW Bitsetting   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 792 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage] >> CD, DVD, BD Drives >> RE: NEC ND-3500A v2.27 Supports SL DVD+R/RW Bitsetting Page: <<   < prev  1 2 [3]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: NEC ND-3500A v2.27 Supports SL DVD+R/RW Bitsetting - 11/2/2004 1:26:25 PM   
Diplomat

Ditto on the DVD newbie here........... I just bought the NEC drive and burned a couple of backup movie dvd's. Can someone explain to me:

Why I should update the firmware?
How I go about updating the firmware?
And will I be able to backup my Xbox games as a result. For some reason I thought I read on another forum that some firmaware enabled you to do this.?

Sorry if this was asked before but I could not find it on a cursory search.

(in reply to edgarmoon)
Post #: 33
RE: NEC ND-3500A v2.27 Supports SL DVD+R/RW Bitsetting - 11/2/2004 1:55:33 PM   
edgarmoon

Ok, my impatience has overwhelmed my need to have my hand held. I could not find anything under drive options in Nero 6.6.0.1 related to book settings, and when I ran NECWinFlash.exe it only let me change the dl, not sl setting. So, I dumped 2.17 into a bin file with NECWinFlash.exe and used it to flash to 227.bin linked from the start of this thread (you can get the utilities there as well, very helpful). After rebooting I still could not find any way of changing the book setting (or bitsetting, I get confused) in Nero (at least not that version, don't have 6.3.x.x) but NECWinFlash.exe now had the default DVD+R set to DVD-Rom and I was able to change it. Happy happy joy joy.