CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

LITEON 812S not burning/reading media   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 1101 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage] >> CD, DVD, BD Drives >> LITEON 812S not burning/reading media Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
LITEON 812S not burning/reading media - 7/29/2004 2:02:17 AM   
zenbeer

(Sigh) ok as the newbie here please forgive me if this has come up, but I've been through the forum for the last couple hours and have not seen anything like what I'm going through here.

Installed a Lite-On 812S, and a Promise Ultra 100 TX2 PCI/IDE control card today. The knuckleheads at newegg.com did not send me a driver disk for the promise card, and I found one on the co's website (Win9x-ME Promise Ultra100 TX2 [tm] IDE Controller (3-27-2003)).

I can't get Nero6 to recognize any burning media I insert in the drive. I assembled the data for a 4.5Gig data-disc in Nero to burn on a blank disc. I'm using Ridata 8x DVD-R, but also tried the enclosed LiteOn 8x DVD+R and the 4X DVD-R to see if my media was at fault. I get a "no disc inserted" from the nero info tool. "My Computer" does the same thing (drive not ready).

I upgraded firmware to version USOQ and tried again, same problem - "no disc inserted" on all media types.

My system is 750Mhz Athlon, 640Mb RAM, W98SE, ASPI 4.6, my motherboard's IDE-1 is running a primary and slave hard drive, IDE-2 with the 812S as master and CDROM as slave (yes I tried just running the 812S with no CDROM on the IDE channel). The promise card is running a single drive 60Gb Maxtor. I have one IDE slot open on the promise card.

812S is set for DMA support. Yes it's a 80 wire ribbon cable.