CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

Burn VCD".dat" file onto DVD   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 1138 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage Software] >> CD/DVD Authoring >> Burn VCD".dat" file onto DVD Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Burn VCD".dat" file onto DVD - 7/11/2003 6:55:16 AM   
cljtam

Hi all,

I am a newbie to this forum and to the world of DVD. (Having just bought a burner last night.)

Well, could any expert kindly advise me on whether I could put several VCD ".dat" files (Say, 11 Movies) onto DVD-R so that I could still be able to watch those movies on my DVD Player on TV?

I know that this is not exactly a good idea, but I just have too many VCD movies (I downloaded) that my girl friend don't want to watch them on Pc LCD...[:0]

Your help would be very much appreciated.

Thousand of thanks in advance!

Joseph
Post #: 1
RE: Burn VCD".dat" file onto DVD - 7/11/2003 12:42:00 PM   
sp

You can do this by creating a normal DVD with source the mpg files you extract from .dat files.
Depending on the software in the case it is smart enough not to re-encode the mpeg1 files at a higher resolution, you will get the same result as if you had created a long-play VCD, with added menus and features available only to DVD's.

I have done this using ULead. The conversion, though, is quite time consuming, but certainly substantially less than re-encoding mpeg4 files, as in the case when the source is in divx format.
Good luck...

WM # CI

(in reply to cljtam)
Post #: 2
RE: Burn VCD".dat" file onto DVD - 7/14/2003 10:44:23 AM   
cljtam

quote:
Originally posted by sp

You can do this by creating a normal DVD with source the mpg files you extract from .dat files.