CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

standalones 4x or 8x?   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 897 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage] >> BD, CD, DVD Media >> standalones 4x or 8x? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
standalones 4x or 8x? - 2/14/2005 4:57:44 PM   
Topper

Hi there.
I'm new to this so, patience, please. I've read through loads of your info about 'burning' this, that and the other but no-one is discussing my question and I could do with some help.

I only use my Panasonic E50 for recording onto DVD so does it matter if I buy 4x or 8x blank discs? So far, all I've used is branded Ritek GO4s with a lot of luck and no coasters. They play in my other standalone machines, too. However, I've been reading in some letter forums that Ritek has gone off the boil, standard-wise so thought that I'd switch to Taiyo Yuden as everyone speaks highly of them. But, do I stick to 4x or doesn't it matter in a standalone recorder if I use 8x?

Also, how do I know that I'm getting genuine TYs if I haven't got any of the media reading software that you guys talk about? I mean, the TYs don't seem to have the brand name on the discs, especially as most seem to be white top for printing - which I also don't need. I just number the discs and keep them in the correct cases. Is the TY brand name on the shiny silver tops?

I'd really appreciate any help as I've spent hours and hours trying to find the info on the net and my stack of Ritek blanks is dwindling by the day.
Thanks.
Post #: 1
RE: standalones 4x or 8x? - 2/15/2005 2:43:15 AM   
Iggy

If you burn at 4X then there is no such need to go for 8X media, which are more expensive.