Is DVDInfo now Malware? (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Optical Storage Software] >> DVDInfoPro


stevec5000 -> Is DVDInfo now Malware? (1/18/2006 8:04:10 PM)

I just downloaded the latest free version of DVDInfoPro and installed it ok
but after that whenever I tried to download a bittorrent file it would pop
up and try to install the DVDInfoPro Toolbar!
I'm not sure what it had to do with bittorrent, I guess they though nobody
would notice and just click OK.
I told it NO a dozen times and SP-2 was blocking it, I though, but later I
found that it had installed the toolbar anyway!
It really pissed me off because there was no notice of DVDInfoPro having a
tool bar and I couldn't stop it from being installed.
And to think, I was considering paying them for the full version right before that!
I've been recommending DVDInfoPro on my website for my DVD power supply
repair business to owners who need to check their discs to find out if they
were recorded and finalized correctly but now I have to find something else.
Who can I contact to complain about this, besides blasting them in all the
Also, can anyone recommend another good DVD checking utility?  I need one that
can tell if the burner is enabled for bitsetting and be able to turn it on if it's not already on.

zebra -> RE: Is DVDInfo now Malware? (1/19/2006 5:42:33 AM)

i. It has nothing to do with bit-torrent itself. I need a really good explanation of this from you, so we can get to the bottom of all of this. What EXACTLY has happened here? It has me a little worried...

ii. It is just a "search" tool, you can use like the google car in FireFox!!!! Nothing more, nothing less!

iii. All you need to do is NOT SELECT TO INSTALL the Toolbar, when installing the software

It's really that simple. This is not MALWARE. This is not SPYWARE. It's just a search-tool-bar with the DVDInfoPro logo.

If you need help finding your way, please let me know, I'd be GLAD to help :)

I'll do all I can to fix this issue for you. Do you need an installer guide? I can show you the steps to make sure you DON'T install the toolbar, if you wish!



stevec5000 -> RE: Is DVDInfo now Malware? (1/19/2006 1:55:23 PM)

I didn't see any place to NOT SELECT TO INSTALL the Toolbar, when installing the software but I could have just overlooked it.  I'll check it closer next time when this version expires and I have to install it again next week.
Still, there should be a way to tell it NO when it tries to install later and won't take NO for an answer!  I hope this
problem gets fixed.

MP3Mogul -> RE: Is DVDInfo now Malware? (1/19/2006 2:18:57 PM)


You SELECT to not download the toolbar WHEN you select to download the file...

This is NOT Malware.........

I have downloaded the file you are questioning being  MalWare on 5 Machines... the toolbar did NOT install on any machine!!!!

THREAD IS NOW LOCKED... This is "FINE" software... not a problem with the Software, nor the Download!

Page: [1]

Valid CSS!

Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI