Thursday, October 20, 2016
Most Popular
Hardware Reviews
PC Parts
Shuttle XPC Slim DS67U Barebone
Kingston DC400 960GB SSD review
Toshiba OCZ RD400 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD
Shuttle DH110 review
WEB Reviews
Seagate Enterprise Capacity 3.5 V.3 4TB SAS 6Gb/s HDD Review
OCZ Vector 256GB SSD Review @ Custom PC Review
Gigabyte F2A85XM-D3H
NZXT Phantom 630
Auvio Bluetooth Portable Speaker Review
Corsair H90 CPU Cooler Review
BIOSTAR Hi-Fi Z77X (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review
Noctua NH-L9i Cooler Review on Technic3D
Breaking News
Razer Unveils The New Razer Blade Pro Gaming Notebook
Nintendo NX Will Be Called Switch, Coming In March 2017
Samsung Could Use LG Chem batteries For Future Smartphones
Yahoo Asks U.S. Intelligence Authorities To Explain Email Scanning Order
Chinese LeEco Showcases TV, Smartphone And Self-driving Car In San Francisco
Fujitsu Develops New Architecture that Rivals Quantum Computers
Acer 24-Inch WQHD Predator Monitor Features ZeroFrame Design, 144Hz Refresh Rate With up to 165Hz Overclocking
Kodak Releases The KODAKEKTRA Smartphone Camera Hybrid
Home > Hardware Reviews > PC Parts

Thursday, February 18, 2010
OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 Platinum Triple Channel

2. Testing the memory

For our tests, we used the following PC set up:

  • CPU: Intel Core i7-920 Retail
  • CPU Cooler: Intel Stock
  • Motherboard: Asus P6T Deluxe BIOS 1904
  • PSU: OCZ GameXStream GXS600 SLI-Ready
  • VGA: MSI 7600GT Silent (stock memory/core timings)
  • HDD: Seagate 7200.12 500GB
  • OS: Windows Vista x64 SP2 with all the latest updates installed

In order to keep enjoy stable operation under all conditions we suggest using the following BIOS settings for the DRAM and the QPI/DRAM voltage. Both values should be set at 1.66V/1.35V, respectively:

According to our tests, the memory is able to handle 1333 MHz memory divider at CL6-6-6-12-1N without any problems. The stability was tested using the Linx v0.6.4 for at least one hour:

In order to achieve the 800MHz, you should push the CAS up to CL7-7-7-20-2N. We also tried to set the command rate at 1N but the system couldn't operate for more than two minutes using the Linux software.

What about overclocking? We saw the memory maxing out at around 1768MHz, aka 882MHz, with CL 8-8-8-24-2N. The memory refused to operate at any higher frequency even at CL9.

Let's see some performance numbers. We got a rather impressive 23.39MB/sec for the DDR3-1333 setting and 26.61MB/sec at DDR3-1600, a performance that really accelerates a system:

Memory Frequency/Timings
Real Frequency
Sisoft Sandra 2009 Memory bandwidth
DDR3 1333 CL6-6-6-12
DDR3 1600 CL7-7-7-20
26.61 MB/sec

Get RSS feed Easy Print E-Mail this Message

Home | News | All News | Reviews | Articles | Guides | Download | Expert Area | Forum | Site Info
Site best viewed at 1024x768+ - CDRINFO.COM 1998-2016 - All rights reserved -
Privacy policy - Contact Us .