Facebook today announced some new tools and systems designed to keep its users' accounts and information secure abreast of suspicious activity.
A new feature allows users to approve the devices they commonly use to log in and then to be notified whenever their account is accessed from a device they haven't approved.
The new "Account Security" feature allows FAcebook users to receive notifications for logins from new devices. When they log in, they'll be asked to name and save the various devices they use to access Facebook. For example, users can save their home computer, their school or work computer, and their mobile phone. Once they've done this, whenever someone logs in to their account from a device not on this list, Facebook will ask the person to name the device.
Facebook will also send users an immediate email notification or a text message - so that they're always up to speed on how their account is being accessed. This notification will provide steps on how to reset a password and remove the device.
Facebook also built a new system to block suspicious logins before they happen. When Facebook see that someone is trying to access a user's account from an unusual device, facebook will ask the person to answer an additional verification question to prove his or her identity as the real account owner. Once the identity isconfirmed, users will have the opportunity to review recent logins on their account and reset their password if they see logins that they don't recognize