CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

Write-protection problem - Back-up of DVD not possible   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 674 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage Software] >> CD/DVD Copy >> Write-protection problem - Back-up of DVD not possible Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Write-protection problem - Back-up of DVD not possible - 5/3/2004 5:27:13 AM   
Max39

Dear all,

I've just bought a new PC with DVD writer and wanted to use Nero to back-up my DVD's... I'm a complete novice and had never done this before, but the message i get for all my attempts to copy any of my DVD's says "this DVD is copy-protected and canot be read". I'm a litle frustrated as the PC manufacturer's advert hails the DVD writer as the way to back-up all my DVD's!

Can anyone help? thanks.
Post #: 1
RE: Write-protection problem - Back-up of DVD not possible - 5/3/2004 5:45:28 AM   
sp

First, you will need to defeat CSS and DVD authentication.
Since I know about this proccess only in theory, I hope some other knowleadgable reader of our forum will soon enlighten us on it.

WM # CI

(in reply to Max39)
Post #: 2
RE: Write-protection problem - Back-up of DVD not possible - 5/3/2004 5:57:44 AM   
Max39

Thanks SP.

Can anyone else help with this?

Thanks.

(in reply to sp)
Post #: 3
RE: Write-protection problem - Back-up of DVD not possible - 5/3/2004 6:13:01 AM   
MP3Mogul

You will need a few tools to backup your DVD's. I suggest using DVD Decrypter, and DVD Shrink. You can get them at www.dvddecrypter.com and www.dvdshrink.org respectively.

Other than those a DVD Mastering program such as Nero will be needed to do your actual writing.

(in reply to Max39)
Post #: 4