CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

Best CDR for Audio and Longevity   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 428 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage] >> BD, CD, DVD Media >> Best CDR for Audio and Longevity Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Best CDR for Audio and Longevity - 3/15/2002 11:54:36 PM   
mj12

I have a Plextor burner and want to burn a bunch of CD's for my wedding as gifts. I will dump wav's from my cd collection then burn the wavs to CDR's. What would you recommend as best quality for doing this. Longevity and quality are needed.

Post #: 1
RE: Best CDR for Audio and Longevity - 3/16/2002 11:49:17 AM   
monkuboy

I am rather new to cd burning, but I have done a lot of research (comments on forums, pro reviews, etc.) and it appears to me that the ones made by Taiyo Yuden are trustworthy. They're actually the manufacturer. Brands out there like Verbatim, TDK, Sony, Imation, etc., don't make their own cdr's, they buy them from factories. The problem is, they buy from different ones so you can't just go by the brand on the disk. For example, I bought some TDK 32x because of the TDK name, but my 32x Liteon / Nero would only allow 12x recording! Then I found out the TDK's are made by Ritek, which a lot of people say is junk. I would suggest buying a "name" brand and then looking on the package to see where it is made. In general, people rate those made in Japan higher than those made in Taiwan. I bought some Fujifilm cdr's because the package said "made in Japan," and found out they were made by Taiyo Yuden. And even though they are 24x rated, I can record at 32x on my Liteon.