CDRInfo Forum CDRInfo Forum

Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

Which burners rate the best with actual users?   Logged in as: Guest
Viewers: 912 You can click here to see Today's Posts | Most Active Topics | Posts Since Last Visit
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Optical Storage] >> CD, DVD, BD Drives >> Which burners rate the best with actual users? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Which burners rate the best with actual users? - 8/29/2001 1:41:40 PM   
carroll

Hello, I'm really glad to find this forum! I am a complete CD-RW novice looking to install an up-to-date internal CD-RW. Although I know my way around a PC I am researching which CD-RW to get. I'm a very good researcher but some of the specs elude me for their importance. For instance, what are the advantages/disadvantages of a 2 mb write buffer compared to an 8 mb buffer? What are the descriptions not saying that helps one discern which ones will write copy protected discs and backup discs with no problem? What is sub-channel data, DAE speed of 32X versus 40X, CloneCD problems, etc.? It seems they all have something to recommend or not recommend them. I'm also concerned about the software bundles they come with as well. Here in the US there are some good deals right now on various units. I have pretty much narrowed my choice down to the Plextor 16X10X40, the same thing in a TDK VeloCD or the Yamaha 2100 Litespeed. Only the TDK comes with the Nero 5.0 (upgradable for free to 5.5) which I keep reading is the easiest and most versatile software to use with any 16X10X40 CD-RW unit. All things being equal for price what do you all think about these units and which one is the most fool-proof (that's me!) and reliable. A wild card here is the new Pacific Digital 16X10X40 unit which I can get for a very good price from Dell but I can't find any test reviews for it